IPL Orange Cap and Purple Cap Update Player List 2008 to 2024

IPL Orange Cap and Purple Cap Update: The IPL Orange and Purple Caps are prestigious awards given to the leading run-scorer and wicket-taker in each season of the Indian Premier League. Since the inception of the league in 2008, these caps have been sought after by players, symbolizing excellence in batting and bowling performances. Notable winners include Chris Gayle, David Warner, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar for the Orange Cap, and Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Harshal Patel for the Purple Cap.

Orange Cap Holder Player List

YearOrange Cap Holder
2023Shubman Gill
2022Jos Buttler
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad
2020KL Rahul
2019David Warner
2018Kane Williamson
2017David Warner
2016Virat Kohli
2015David Warner
2014Robin Uthappa
2013Michael Hussey
2012Chris Gayle
2011Chris Gayle
2010Sachin Tendulkar
2009Matthew Hayden
2008Shaun Marsh

Purple Cap Holder Player List

YearPurple Cap Holder
2023Mohammed Shami
2022Yuzvendra Chahal
2021Harshal Patel
2020Kagiso Rabada
2019Imran Tahir
2018Andrew Tye
2017Bhuvneshwar Kumar
2016Bhuvneshwar Kumar
2015Dwayne Bravo
2014Mohit Sharma
2013Dwayne Bravo
2012Morne Morkel
2011Lasith Malinga
2010Pragyan Ojha
2009RP Singh
2008Sohail Tanvir


1. What are the Orange and Purple Caps in IPL?

The Orange Cap is awarded to the leading run-scorer, while the Purple Cap is given to the highest wicket-taker in each IPL season.

2. How are the Orange and Purple Cap holders determined?

IPL Orange Cap and Purple Cap Update and After every match in the IPL season, the top run-scorer and wicket-taker are identified and recognized as the Orange and Purple Cap holders, respectively. These titles change after each match based on individual performances.

3. Who are the current Orange Cap holders in IPL 2024?

As of the latest update after the RCB vs PBKS match on March 25, 2024, the top run scorers are:

  • Virat Kohli (RCB): 98 runs
  • Sam Curran (PBKS): 86 runs
  • Sanju Samson (RR): 82 runs
  • Shikhar Dhawan (PBKS): 67 runs
  • Dinesh Karthik (RCB): 66 runs

4. Who holds the Purple Cap in IPL 2024?

Following the RCB vs PBKS match on March 25, 2024, the leading wicket-takers are:

  • Mustafizur Rahman (CSK): 4 wickets
  • Jasprit Bumrah (MI): 3 wickets
  • Harpreet Brar (PBKS): 3 wickets
  • Kagiso Rabada (PBKS): 3 wickets
  • T Natarajan (SRH): 3 wickets

You may also like...